Chur Tourism - The Swiss Alpine City, Graubünden

Bernina Express

No other railway line connects the north and the south in such a wonderful way as the Bernina Express line. In the panorama train of the Rhaetian Railway, the journey leads on the spectacular Albula and Bernina line through the UNESCO World Heritage Rhaetian Railway - high up to the glacier glistening of the mountains and again deep down into Italy's palm paradise.

 

In the panorama train of the Bernina Express, the beauty of the Alps can be experienced in an impressive way. On the four and a half hour train journey, the travellers are presented with a change of scenery in a class of its own: first experiencing the rough charm of the high mountains, a few hours later they find themselves in the Mediterranean Tirano under palm trees and experience pure Italianità.

5 highlights on the route

  • Landwasser viaduct
  • Bernina Pass
  • Alp Grüm
  • Brusio Circular Viaduct
  • Tirano

The Bernina Express travels through the UNESCO World Heritage Rhaetian Railway. The more than 100-year-old stretch between Thusis and Tirano is a masterpiece of construction technology and line management. The 122-kilometre-long route blends harmoniously into the enchanting landscape with spectacular structures such as viaducts, galleries and loop tunnels. A ride on the Bernina Express is therefore not only a must for all railway enthusiasts - nature lovers and those interested in culture will also get their money's worth.

Would you like to breathe some more fresh air? The journey continues in the Bernina Express Bus - past the vineyards of the Veltlin, through picturesque villages and along Lake Como - from Tirano to Lugano (or vice versa).

We use cookies and tracking technologies according to our privacy policy to provide you the best possible web experience. To the data protection declaration

Tourismus in der Alpenstadt Chur, Graubünden, Schweiz.

Bernina Express

Keine Bahnlinie verbindet den Norden und den Süden auf so wundervolle Weise wie die Bernina Express Strecke. Im Panoramazug der Rhätischen Bahn führt die Reise auf der spektakulären Albula- und Berninalinie durch das UNESCO Welterbe RhB – hoch hinauf bis zum Gletscherglitzern der Berge und wieder tief hinab ins Palmenparadies Italiens. 

 

Im Panoramazug des Bernina Express wird die Schönheit der Alpen auf eindrückliche Weise erfahrbar. Auf der gut viereinhalbstündigen Fahrt präsentiert sich den Reisenden einen landschaftlichen Szenenwechsel der Extraklasse: Zuerst den rauen Charme des Hochgebirges erlebend, findet man sich wenige Stunden später im mediterranen Tirano unter Palmen wieder und erlebt Italianità pur.

5 Höhepunkte auf der Strecke

  • Landwasserviadukt
  • Berninapass
  • Alp Grüm
  • Kreisviadukt von Brusio
  • Tirano

Der Bernina Express durchfährt auf seiner Reise das UNESCO Welterbe RhB. Die mehr als 100 Jahre alte Strecke zwischen Thusis und Tirano ist bezüglich Bautechnik und Linienführung eine Meisterleistung. Harmonisch fügt sich die 122 Kilometer lange Strecke mit spektakulären Kunstbauten wie Viadukten, Galerien und Kehrtunnels in die bezaubernde Landschaft ein. Eine Fahrt mit dem Bernina Express gehört somit nicht nur ins Pflichtprogramm aller Bahnliebhaber – auch Naturbegeisterte und Kulturinteressierte kommen auf ihre Kosten.

Möchten Sie noch mehr Südluft schnuppern? Im Bernina Express Bus geht die Reise aussichtsreich weiter - vorbei an den Weinbergen des Veltlins, durch malerische Dörfer und entlang des Comersees - von Tirano nach Lugano (oder umgekehrt).

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen das bestmögliche Erlebnis auf unserer Website zu bieten. Details